Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Review of ULTIMATE COURAGE by Piper J. Drake & Giveaway!


Hot military heroes, the women who love them, and the devoted dogs that always have their backs. ULTIMATE COURAGE is the second book in a high adrenaline contemporary suspense series from Piper J. Drake published by Forever Romance. Fans of D.D. Ayres K-9 Rescue series and Cindy Gerard’s One Eyed Jacks, will love this action packed romantic suspense series.

Title: Ultimate Courage
Author: Piper J. Drake
Series: True Heroes #2
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: July 26, 2016
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing- Forever
Print Length:  336 pages
Format: Digital and Mass Market Paperback


Retired Navy SEAL Alex Rojas is putting his life back together, one piece at a time. Being a single dad to his young daughter and working at Hope's Crossing Kennels to help rehab a former guard dog, he struggles every day to control his PTSD. But when Elisa Hall shows up, on the run and way too cautious, she unleashes his every protective instinct. 

Elisa's past never stays in her rearview mirror for long, and she refuses to put anyone else in danger. But with Alex guarding her so fiercely yet looking at her so tenderly, she's never felt safer . . . or more terrified that the secrets she keeps could put countless people in grave peril. The only way for both to fully escape their demons will take the ultimate act of courage: letting go and learning to trust each other.

Get More information at: Goodreads  | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes


Wow, just, wow.  I honestly could not put this one down. While this is only the second book in the series, this series has easily became one of my top favorites.  Each time I finish a book, I am dying for the next one. I have fallen in love with these men and I can't wait for all of them to get their HEA.  

Alex is a single dad that has no expectations of finding someone to spend his life with.  He is comfortable working at Hope's Crossing while raising his daughter and is really just trying to live his life one day at a time.  The last thing he expects is for someone like Elisa to show up in his life and rock his carefully planned world.  The more time he spends with her, the more he begins to realize what he has been missing in his life.

Elisa is running from a past she wishes she could forget. When she ends up in need of a job, Alex offers her one on a trial basis.  She couldn't be happier with her new found freedom and blooming life.  However, she knows that the longer she stays, the greater the chances are that she will bring danger to the kennel and everyone around her. 

When Elisa's past shows up to suck her back into the life she wants to forget, it will be up to Alex to keep her safe. Will he be able to save her?  Will Elisa finally tell Alex how she feels?  In order to find out, you HAVE to read this book.  I promise you will not be disappointed.  

If you are in the mood for a romance that will keep you on the edge of your seat while making you drool from all the mouthwatering men, then this is the book for you.  I loved it from the beginning and thought the author did a wonderful job roping the reader into the book.  I though Alex and Elisa were perfect for each other and I couldn't get enough of them. Great job Piper!!  I can't wait for the next book in the series!               

Also in this series:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Piper J. Drake:

Piper J. Drake (or “PJ”) began her writing career as “PJ Schnyder” writing sci-fi & paranormal romance and steampunk. She has recently received the FF&P PRISM award for her work as well as the NJRW Golden Leaf award and Parsec award.

Now, PJ is exploring the complexity of romantic suspense, incorporating her interests in mixed martial arts and the military into her writing.
Alex’s hand came up slowly to cradle the side of her face, encouraging her to tilt her head, and she did. He deepened the kiss then, his tongue running across her lips and coaxing them to open for him. She opened with a sigh, and his tongue swept into her mouth, gently tasting. She kissed him back in return, leaning into him until she had one hand braced against his hard chest.

A needy moan escaped her, and he responded in kind. When he lifted his mouth from hers, she almost tipped into him, her knees not holding her upright anymore and her head spinning. Wow.

She took not one, but several long breaths to clear her head, looking down at a black and tan face staring up at her with soulful, dark eyes. Souze wasn’t shy about watching, apparently.

The thought brought her the rest of the way to her senses, because weird. Yeah. Weird.

She took a step back, and Alex let her. He’d done that since the beginning. Letting her go if she wanted. So why was it so hard to leave now even if she kept saying she should?

“Thank you,” she told him, not looking up into his eyes.

“But?” Alex’s voice came cool, deep, and so sexy it just wasn’t fair.

“But I should go. Especially because this is obviously not a professional thing now.”

“No. But none of your previous employers particularly cared if you left, did they?” He sounded reasonable. “Did they bother to try to check on you?”

“Not that I know of.” She said it slowly. She’d had her phone with her, and she’d been checking her e-mail. Both big mistakes, she knew now. But she’d been paid under the table and they didn’t really have a way to contact her after she disappeared.
“I think that’s a little odd.” Rojas lifted his hand, giving her plenty of time to avoid him, and brushed her hair back from her face. “Maybe this time, it wouldn’t hurt to have someone care about whether you disappear.”

No comments:

Post a Comment